We are on Twitter!  Get your Rock History Book headlines on our Twitter page! Click Here

 

Join our Facebook Group and get on our mailing list. Here



 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

9 Year-Old Chase Edwards-Beaudin Drumming to Genesis 'Behind the Lines' from 'Duke'
Check out Chase (son of John Beaudin & Shannon Edwards of Rock History Book) drumming crazy-town to a 1980 Genesis classic 'Behind the Lines' a concert favorite for many years. MORE

Rush wins 'Rock Album of the Year' at Juno Awards
April 22, 2013 – The annual Juno Awards ceremony was held in Regina, Saskatchewan last night hosted by crooner Michael Buble and many canadian artists were there for their contribution in the music industry. MORE


Bill Wyman Says No To Re-joining The Stones April 19, 2013 – Bill Wyman, the past bassist of the Rolling stones says no to hooking back up with his former band. READ MORE

Ozzy Osbourne Wants To Work With Adele
March 25, 2013 – Recently in an interview with Rip It Up, Ozzy Osbourne revealed that he wants to collaborate with British pop sensation Adele. He hinted the possibility of producer Rick Rubin sorting out all the details to possibly make it happen. MORE

Pink, Proves Again, To Be a Good Role Model
March 19, 2013 – Pink was in concert in Philadelphia last week and, again, showed us why we think she is so cool. MORE

David Bowie’s New Album - Top Seller, So Far, for 2013 in UK
March 13, 2013 - The New David Bowie Album, ‘The Next Day’ had the best sales for any record so far this year in the UK. On the first day of release over 56,000 copies were sold. MORE

Guns N Roses Axl Rose May Be Sued for Injuring Fan
March 12, 2013 – Guns N Roses kicked off their Australian tour in Perth this past weekend and Axl Rose was said to have injured a fan who may now sue the singer. MORE

The Kids are Alright! - by Ryan Somers
March 7, 2013 - The kids are alright. No. They really are. For a while I might not have been so sure. But I would like to think that, like many people, I am learning more the older and balder I get. MORE

INDIE SPOTLIGHT - Susie Major of Cry Wolf
March 7, 2013 - Everyone likes a good old-fashioned reunion. Rock n Roll has had too few. Fans of 80's L.A. rockers Cry Wolf got what they wanted in 2007 with what was meant to be a one-off show. MORE

Natalie Cole Teases About New Music
March 7, 2013 – Natalie Cole has found her muse again! The 'Unforgettable' singer told fans on Twitter that she's coming back. The nine time Grammy winner should have a new album out this year. MORE

Tegan and Sara To Release Limited Vinyl Edition
March 5, 2013 – For this year’s Record Store Day, Warner Bros have announced a limited edition of Tegan and Sara on vinyl. MORE

Michael Buble Getting Ready For New Album Release
March 5, 2013 - Canadian singer, Michael Buble is getting ready for his upcoming album “To Be Loved’ hitting stores April 23rd. MORE

Eric Clapton Says He’s Retiring Soon
March 5, 2013 – Eric Clapton tells Rolling Stone that he plans to retire and stop touring when he is 70! "If I could [play] around my neighborhood, that would be great," says Clapton, 67. MORE

Scott Weiland of Stone Temple Pilot Says Firing Not True
March 4, 2013 – TMZ says Stone Temple Pilots lied about firing Scott Weiland and it was all a publicity stunt to improve ticket sales for their upcoming concert tour. MORE

Rush Announces North American Tour
February 20, 2013 - Rush Fans are thrilled the band has just announced a new tour of North America. The ‘Clockwork Angels’ tour begins in April and rounds up in August. MORE

Tom Petty and Kings of Leon Headline Hangout Festival
February 15, 2013 – This year’s Hangout festival will be held May 17-19th on the beaches of Gulf Shores, Alabama. Two of the three headliners have been announced and although it is uncertain what Tom Petty’s 2013 touring schedule is like, he has confirmed that he will be in on the music event. MORE

Whitney Houston Remembered By Mariah Carey and Jordan Sparks
February 14, 2013 – It is hard to believe that it has been one year Monday that marked the death of Whitney Houston. It is no surprise that family and friends come forward to honor the great music star including Mariah Carey and Jordan Sparks. MORE

REVIEW - Blake Havard – Blake Havard
February 14, 2013 – The dripping residue from breaking hearts has caused many guitars to twang for hundreds of years. MORE

55th Grammy Award Winners
Feb 11, 2013 - The 55th annual Grammy Awards were held in Los Angeles last night and The Black Keys, Mumford & Sons, Gyote and Fun came out as big winners during the gala event. MORE

Classic Interview with Roger Hodgson Formerly of Supertramp - September 28, 1984
February 6, 2013 - Here is an interesting point in Rock history. Roger Hodgson, arguably the driving force behind supertramp early success, had just left the band. Check out our interview featuring Steve Burgess as Hodgson speaks candidly about the tentions that led to his leaving the group. MORE

Fleetwood Mac Will Play New Music on UK Tour This Year
February 6, 2013 – In celebration of the 35th Anniversary of their ‘Rumours’ album Fleetwood Mac has announced tour dates for later this year. MORE

Gavin DeGraw, Train and The Script to Tour Together
February 5, 2013 - Fans are gonna be lining up for this one and who wouldn’t want a deal with three concerts for the price of one! MORE

Bon Jovi Plans Upcoming Tour
Jan 31, 2013 – Bon Jovi is back in action to promote their twelfth studio album ‘What about

Now’ due out March 26th. The boys will begin their tour in Connecticut February 9th and assures fans that they will get a show that's packed with all their greatest hits and a few surprises. MORE

Eric Clapton to Release New Album 'Old Sock'
January 31, 2013 – Eric Clapton is set to release his 21st studio album ‘Old Sock’ on March 12th.
The album is promoted by his own label, Bushbranch. MORE

Norah Jones Performs at Oscars
January 30, 2013 – Norah Jones is one busy lady as she is set to perform at the Oscars and is getting ready for her tour. MORE

NEW INTERVIEWS

INDIE SPOTLIGHT - Susie Major of Cry Wolf
March 7, 2013 - Everyone likes a good old-fashioned reunion. Rock n Roll has had too few. Fans of 80's L.A. rockers Cry Wolf got what they wanted in 2007 with what was meant to be a one-off show. MORE

Classic Interview with Roger Hodgson Formerly of Supertramp - September 28, 1984
February 6, 2013 - Here is an interesting point in Rock history. Roger Hodgson, arguably the driving force behind supertramp early success, had just left the band. Check out our interview featuring Steve Burgess as Hodgson speaks candidly about the tentions that led to his leaving the group. MORE

Ravi Shankar Dead at 92 - Read Our Interview with the Musical Legend from 2002
December 12, 2012 - After doing hundreds of interviews in my radio career there are only a handful that I remember clearly and there is only one that has stuck with me as if it was done yesterday. My interview with Pandit Ravi Shankar. His passing on December 11th (interestingly 3 days after the 32nd anniversary of John Lennon's death) brought me back to that rainy day in Vancouver. MORE

Legendary Drummer Steve Gadd Talks with John Beaudin Today on AirCom Radio Network
September 18, 2012 – The AirCom Radio Network is pleased to welcome Steve Gadd to our airwaves today. The legendary drummer will join John Beaudin on air for an exclusive chat introducing his band, The Gaddabouts, new album ‘Look Out Now.’ MORE

Steve Burgess' Classic Interview with John Anthony Helliwell of Supertramp - Classic Interview
September 7, 2012 - Today we publish the first of many interviews by journalist Steve Burgess. Our subject is Supertramps John Anthony Helliwell. Recorded on May 16, 1985 the saxophonist talks about the tensions that lead to original member Roger Hodgson leaving the group. MORE

RETRO - INTERVIEWS - Dan Peek of America
July 26, 2011 - Although Dan Peek left the group America in 1977 he is certainly not forgotten as a member of the famous band. Peek passed away on July 24 of undisclosed causes. He was 60. The singer’s site simply states, “Dan went to Heaven on July 24 2011” and features a video of Peek performing his America hit “Lonely People. MORE

Classic Interview with the Late Great Jim Clench of April Wine and BTO
November 8, 2010 – When I heard that Jim Clench had passed away I immediately went to my basement to find one of my favourite April Wine albums, “Electric Jewels.” More than any other LP from the group, this one really showcased his talents at such an important time in their incarnation. More

NEW REVIEWS

The Kids are Alright! - by Ryan Somers
March 7, 2013 - The kids are alright. No. They really are. For a while I might not have been so sure. But I would like to think that, like many people, I am learning more the older and balder I get. MORE

REVIEW - Blake Havard – Blake Havard
February 14, 2013 – The dripping residue from breaking hearts has caused many guitars to twang for hundreds of years. MORE

John Cody Shows That Sharing Too Much is a Good Thing!
John Cody - Painful Righteous Bliss - Duke Street Records (4.5 stars out of 5)
September 3, 2012 - There is nothing private about transparency. It doesn’t live alone. Artists who share too much are, really, no different than you and me. Of course I don’t mean this in a Lady Ga Ga kind-of-way – If someone’s dress makes you crave a cheeseburger, you’ve gone too far. MORE

 

REVIEW - Esperanza Spalding – Radio Music Society (4 out of 5 Stars) – Heads Up – Concord Music Group
April 4, 2012 – Esperanza Spalding is a groovy chick. I mean, really, when she’s in the room, everyone else disappears and I’m talkin’ more than that big “love-sculpture” hair. She’s the type of musician you might walk up to at a party, ask about her music, and walk away three hours later regretting the question. This lady has a vision so you better have a seat. MORE

 

REVIEW – Van Halen – A Different Kind of Truth (***3 out of 5)
February 7, 2012 – Unwrapping this one might bring back Christmas-past memories of a re-gifting faux pas. As they say it must be a great gift if they are giving it back to you? Sure, you will feel a certain déjà vu with the new Van Halen album, “A Different Kind of Truth.” That classic sound is certainly there. The problem? MORE

 

REVIEW: Colbie Caillat – All of You - Universal Republic
Sept, 2011 – On her third album Colbie Caillat has decided to strategically give us an uptempo summer-vibe. It still sounds like her smash debut “Coco” but this time it’s Colbie with caffeine and it’s positive and fun. MORE

It's Hard to Imagine a Better Outcome
REVIEW - Elton John & Leon Russell – The Union – Decca Records

October 31, 2010 – This project started after Elton John just happened to mention his chief influences on “Spectacle,” a TV program hosted by Elvis Costello and produced by him and partner David Furnish. MORE

 

A Disappointing Return for Sade
REVIEW - Sade – Soldier of Love
June 16, 2010 – There’s always been an understated value to everything that Sade does and sameness to her entire repertoire. That quality of old wine has served the singer/band well… until now. Unlike Norah Jones who has, at least, tried to mix-up-the-pot, Sade really needs to stop wearing the same dress to every party. MORE

BIRTHDAYS (Click here for the full list)

BIRTHDAYS

June 1: Alanis Morissette (1974)
June 1: Ron Wood (Rolling Stones) (1947)
June 1: Pat Boone (1934)
June 2: Charlie Watts (Rolling Stones) (1941)
June 3: Dan Hill (1954)
June 3: Billy Powell (Lynyrd Skynyrd) (1952)
June 4: Stefan Lessard (Dave Matthews Band) (1974)
June 5: Mark Wahlberg (aka Marky Mark) (1971)
June 5: Brian McKnight (1969)
June 5: Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden) (1954)
June 5: Laurie Anderson (1947)
June 5: Freddie Stone (Sly & The Family Stone) (1946)
June 6: Uncle Kracker (1974)
June 6: James Shaffer (Korn) (1970)
June 7: Dave Navarro (Jane's Addiction) (1967)
June 7: Eric Kretz (Stone Temple Pilots) (1966)
June 7: Prince (1958)
June 7: Tom Jones (1940)
June 8: Nick Rhodes (Duran Duran) (1962)
June 8: Mick Hucknall (Simply Red) (1960)
June 8: Bonnie Tyler (1953)
June 8: Boz Scaggs (1944)
June 8: Chuck Negron (Three Dog Knight) (1942)
June 8: Nancy Sinatra (1940)
June 9: Jon Lord (Deep Purple) (1941)
June 10: Dan Lavery (Tonic) (1969)
June 10: Jimmy Chamberlain (Smashing Pumpkins) (1967)
June 10: Shirley Alston (The Shirelles) (1941)
June 11: Dan Lavery (Tonic) (1969)
June 11: Joey Santiago (The Pixies) (1965)
June 11: Donnie Van Zandt (38 Special) (1952)
June 11: Frank Beard (ZZ Top) (1949)
June 12: Kenny Wayne Shepherd (1977)
June 12: Brad Delp (Boston) (1951-2007)
June 12: Bun E. Carlos (Cheap Trick) (1951)
June 14: Chris DeGarmo (Queensryche) (1963)
June 14: Alan White (Yes) (1949)
June 14: Rod Argent (The Zombies) (1945)
June 15: Scott Rockenfield (Queensryche) (1963)
June 15: Steve Walsh (Kansas) (1952)
June 15: Ian Matthews (1946)
June 16: Gino Vanelli (1952)
June 17: Barry Manilow (1946)
June 18: Dizzy Reed (Guns N' Roses) (1963)
June 18: Paul McCartney (1942)
June 19: Ann Wilson (Heart) (1950)
June 20: John Taylor (Duran Duran) (1960)
June 20: Michael Anthony (Van Halen) (1955)
June 20: Cyndi Lauper (1953)
June 20: Lionel Richie (1949)
June 20: Brian Wilson (The Beach Boys) (1942)
June 21: Joey Kramer (Aerosmith) (1950)
June 21: Ray Davies (The Kinks) (1944)
June 22: Steven Page (Barenaked Ladies) (1970)
June 22: Gary Beers (INXS) (1957)
June 22: Todd Rundgren (1948)
June 22: Kris Kristofferson (1936)
June 24: Curt Smith (Tears For Fears) (1961)
June 24: John Illsley (Dire Straits) (1949)
June 24: Jeff Beck (1944)
June 24: Mick Fleetwood (Fleetwood Mac) (1942)
June 25: George Michael (1963)
June 25: David Paich (Toto) (1954)
June 25: Tim Finn (Crowded House) (1952)
June 25: Ian McDonald (Foreigner) (1946)
June 25: Carly Simon (1945)
June 26: Patty Smyth (1957)
June 26: Chris Isaak (1956)


Click here for the full list

 

REVIEW - Blake Havard – Blake Havard

February 14, 2013 – The dripping residue from breaking hearts has caused many guitars to twang for hundreds of years. As we know that despair and angst has not always proved fruitful for many. For most of us writing a tune, with a nail through ones heart, usually results in spewing venom, that first letter a psychologist tells you never to send, it's either too loud or too stupid . Blake Havard has either learned to breathe between the mortar attacks or he sees the lessons in every punch.

Being a lover of early Rock n Roll this Vancouver singer songwriter knows that keeping it simple is only half the battle. Like the Beatles and Stones Havard tries to juggle a clear message, a melody that sticks and an infectious fever that might just make you shake a little. "A lot of what I do is about relationships and loneliness,” says Havard, “just about being on your own on this planet and having rock 'n' roll to scream about it. Sometimes I get really scared that I'm going to block it off and not be able to say anything. But that's why I have rock 'n' roll, it's the only thing I have to get loose."

This self titled “Best of' is a great introduction to an artist that marries Rock and Country. Imagine Steve Earl singing Tom Petty tunes while being backed up by the early Eagles – remember when they had balls.

Havard starts the compilation a bit country on ‘Wanted to Believe You’ and in that fashion looks back at a relationship and its broken promises as if they were written in stone. The moral in broken love, in the end at least, should be"‘They meant it when they said it” but Harvard isn’t there yet. He sings “When you said that you loved me, I wanted to believe you” in the beginning of the tune and near it’s end “When you said that you wished you’d never met me, I almost believed you.”

‘No Mistaking It’ has one of those nice fat chorus’ – catchy and loaded with layered rich vocals. Written and produced by Havard it's a great song about how hard it is to write a great song. How a burnt out rocker searches for his next girl, who may or may not be his muse.

‘Better Luck’ describes frustrating tail-chasing, in a relationship that perpetually leads to that kick-in-the-teeth. A relationship devoid of Kodak moments, and perhaps, it's only purpose is to sing it in the ones rear-view mirror.

There's a real Eagles-esque feel to 'Wave Goodbye' and like the main theme of this compilation Havard's last line is “It's ok to have a broken heart.”

'All the Right Places,' written by his brother Brent, is a quintessential toe-tapping Pop/Rock about how a woman's body can, not only, make all the pain go away, but, make you, hypnotically forget you ever had any. It’s damn catchy stuff with Havard grooving, the old fashioned way, about how her parts fit together so well.

Though much of this CD has that honest twangy Tom Petty signature sound ‘Bullet Boy,’ especially fits in that pocket. The way Havard almost shouts the chorus, something that's usually hard to pull off, seems appropriate for a story about a fearless soul with more guts and blind faith than common sense. In war 'Bullet Boy' is loyal, it seems, to a fault.

Havard easily reminds us throughout the album that blood and guts via heartache will never get in the way of a great 'take no prisoners' driving tune. This is one to tell your friends about. - by John Beaudin

 

Find Blake Havard here

https://www.facebook.com/pages/BLAKE-HAVARD/6227977831?fref=tshttp:www.twitter.com/blakehavard
http://www.soundcloud.com/blakehavard
http://www.reverbnation.com/blakehavard